

The Hammersmith Society

Minutes of the Awards Evening and 58th Annual General Meeting On September 29th 2021 at the River Room, Riverside Studios London W6 9BN

Present: 75 members, Andy Slaughter MP, The Mayor of Hammersmith and Fulham, representatives of local societies and Award winners.

1. Introduction

Professor Hans Haenlein MBE, the Society President welcomed Cllr PJ Murphy, the Society's Patron the Mayor of Hammersmith and Fulham, Sherry Dobbin the evening's guest speaker, members, and guests.

As it was not possible to hold an in-person AGM in 2020, he particularly wanted to thank Richard Winterton Chairman, Melanie Whitlock, Vice-Chairman and Richard Farthing Membership Secretary for all their hard work keeping the Society going during the pandemic.

2. Hammersmith Society Awards were introduced by Derrick Wright. There were fewer nominations than in previous years, but they were generally of a high standard. All the nominated schemes were discussed, and the winners were presented their awards by the Mayor:

The Environment Award to the Quaker Meeting House, Bradmore Park Road. (Architect Stuart Dodd)

The Nancye Goulden Award to the planting scheme at 245 Hammersmith Road (Sheppard Robson Architecture and Exterior Architecture)

The Tom Ryland Award for Conservation to The Mission Hall, Iffley Road (Lamington Group, Neil Davies Architects, HUT Architecture)

Wooden Spoons were awarded to those schemes which had got it wrong: Thames Water for the water fountain in Lyric Square and elsewhere and 5G masts.

The Mayor concluded by saying what an important part the Society played in bringing issues to the attention of the Council.

3. Visiting speaker: Sherry Dobbin of Futurecity placemaking consultants, spoke on 'Unlocking the potential of city places, and how this could work for Hammersmith town centre'. She suggested looking carefully to what is already in the local area and making decisions based on what is best for local people. This will also be good for visitors.

4. 2020-2021: Chairman's report

Richard Winterton highlighted that, despite the Covid lockdowns, the Society had responded to consultations on 30 planning applications. It had had considerable input into the Olympia regeneration scheme and the Hammersmith Town Hall scheme. Detailed comments had been issued on Hammersmith Bridge and strong objections to the Hammersmith Road-King Street cycle way.

5. Minutes of the 57th AGM held at the Apex room, Olympia on 12 June 2019 were agreed. The 2020 AGM having been cancelled.

6. Treasurer's Report and Accounts.

The Treasurer Richard Tollemache had had to resign following a severe case of Covid-19. Matt Hedges had agreed to take over.

The accounts were tabled and agreed.

7. Membership engagement

Richard Farthing reported on the importance to the Society of social media involvement and what the Society had been doing. He hoped members would respond to social media feeds.

8. Election of Officers and Committee

The following were elected unopposed:

Hans Haenlein	President
Richard Winterton	Chair
Annabel Clarke	Secretary
Matt Hedges	Treasurer
Richard Farthing	Membership
Committee members:	Angela Clarke, Julian Hillman, Robert Iggulden, Annabelle May, Chris
Tranchell, Derrick Wright (honorary member)	

The Chairman pointed out the missing person from the above, namely Melanie Whitlock who will shortly be leaving London. Melanie had been Chairman twice, Vice-Chairman for eight years. She was thanked for all her exceptional work over 30 years and will be greatly missed.

9. Questions from the floor:

Three issues were raised by members

Transparency in planning and in granting pavement licences for restaurants and cafes

Invasive and fast-growing shrubs, i.e. Buddleia and Robinia, growing over the pavements

Encourage the new Secretary of State for Planning to promote sensible planning in the Government's further review of planning laws and for the Society to be proactive in putting forward proposals for what is required.